CYNGOR CYMUNED GWAUN CAE GURWEN GWAUN CAE GURWEN COMMUNITY COUNCIL

<u>Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Council held at the Tairgwaith</u> <u>Community Centre at 6.30pm on Tuesday the 21st May 2019</u>

1. <u>Present –</u>

G A Moore, Presiding Councillors - Dave Jones, Len Preece, Sue Jordan, Leander Bell, Dafydd Humphries, Cathryn Harrison, Dai Davies, Adrian Herdman, Mike Harrison Also in attendance - Lyn Llewellyn Clerk/RFO

2. Apologies for absence

Michele Emerson, Dai Davies and Cathryn Harrison

3. Declarations of personal interests

There were no declarations of personal interest made

4. Election of Chairperson for the ensuring year.

The Chairman stood down and the Clerk called for nominations. Proposed and seconded by Adrian Herdman and unanimously resolved by members that Michele Emerson be elected Chairperson in absentia for the ensuing year. Accordingly, the rest of the business of the meeting was chaired by Dafydd Humphreys in the unavoidable absence of Michele Emerson.

5. <u>To appoint a Vice Chairperson for the ensuring year</u>

Proposed and seconded and unanimously resolved by members, that Dafydd Humphreys be elected Vice Chairperson for the ensuing year. Dafydd thanked his fellow members for their support.

6. Minutes of the last Annual Meeting

The minutes of the 2018 Annual Meeting were re-affirmed.

- 7. <u>Consideration of the recommendations made by a committee</u> There were no recommendations made.
- 8. <u>Review of delegation arrangements to committees, sub committees, staff and other local authorities.</u>

No change

9. Review of terms of reference for committees No change.

10. Appointment of members to existing committees.

a) One Voice Wales –

Resolved that Michele Emerson, Cathryn Harrison and Dave Jones represent Council.

b) Abertawe Swansea Bay University NHS Trust –
 Resolved that Leander Bell and Sue Jordan represent Council

c) School Governing Bodies -

Gwaun Cae Gurwen Primary School – Nia Treharne Tairgwaith Primary School – Michele Emerson

d) East Pit Liaison Committee –

Resolved that David Davies represent Council

e) Pwllfawatkin Disposal Site Liaison Committee -

Resolved that the Cwmgors members, Geoff Moore, David Jones, David Davies and Adrian Herdman, represent Council

f) Personnel Sub Group –

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, Vice-Chairman, Dafydd Humphries, David Jones and Adrian Herdman are appointed.

g) Aman Group of Town and Community Councils -

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson represent Council and the Vice Chairperson, Dafydd Humphries be appointed substitute.

h) NPTCBC Liaison Committee -

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, and the Vice Chairperson, Dafydd Humphries, represent Council

i) Mynydd Y Betws Wind Farm Panel Member –

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, represent Council

j) Standing Orders Committee –

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, Geoff Moore and David Jones are appointed

k) Sustainability Committee, including 3 year plan -

Resolved that all members of the Council are appointed

I) Youth Participation Committee –

Resolved that Adrian Herdman, David Jones, Len Preece and Leander Bell are appointed

m) Finance Committee –

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, the Vice Chairperson, Dafydd Humphries, Geoff Moore, David Jones and Len Preece are appointed.

n) Press Officer -

Resolved that the Chairperson, Michele Emerson, Sue Jordan and the Clerk are appointed.

11. Appointment of any new committees in accordance with Standing Orders

Proposed and seconded that a Christmas Lights Sub Committee be established and that Dafydd Humphries, Geoff Moore, Leander Bell and Cathryn Harrison are appointed members.

- Review and adoption of appropriate Standing Orders and Financial Regulations
 Proposed and seconded that the existing Standing Orders and Financial Regulations be adopted.
- 13. <u>Review of arrangements, including any charters and agency agreements, with</u> <u>other local authorities and review of contributions made to expenditure</u> <u>incurred by other local authorities.</u>

Reported that there was a charter in existence between NPTCBC and the Council. Confirmed that there was no contribution made to expenditure incurred by other local authorities

14. <u>Review of inventory of land and assets including buildings and office</u> <u>equipment.</u>

Noted that the paperwork was available for inspection, by appointment, at the Clerk's office in the Cwmgors Community Centre.

15. <u>Confirmation of arrangements for insurance cover in respect of all insurable</u> risks.

Confirmed that the Council has insurance cover in place for all insured risks.

16. <u>Review of the councils and /or staff subscription to other bodies.</u>

Resolved that council maintains its membership of the following: One Voice Wales, NPTCBC, NPTCVS, Amman Group of Community Councils and also the Society of Local Council Clerks.

17. <u>Review of the council's complaints procedure.</u>

Resolved that council write-up the council's complaints procedure.

18. <u>Review of the council's procedures for handling requests made under the</u> <u>Freedom of Information Act 2000 and the Data Protection Act 1998.</u>

Reported that new legislation is being introduced which will necessitate council writing-up new procedures.

- Review of the council's policy for dealing with the press/media.
 Resolved that council proceed to write up a policy on press/media.
- 20. <u>Determining the time and place of ordinary meeting of the full council up to</u> <u>and including the next annual meeting of full council.</u>

Resolved that the Clerk prepares a draft list of Ordinary Meetings for the year ahead.

21. Appointment of Internal Auditor

Resolved that David Isaac be appointed Internal Auditor for 2018/19

The meeting was closed at 8.00pm

Signed .	 •••••	 	
Dated	 	 	